nyfw: my curated picks

Last week, I saw an article on The Coveteur in which editors curated their NYFW looks, adhering to the age-old notion that fashion week / fashion month allows the opportunity to pull out your strangest pieces—the furry sandal, the sculptural dresses, whatever appeals to your most extreme sartorial tastes—and wear them without shame. I think that’s really what everyone loves these days, right? The collections are fun but street style is the real draw.

I thought it would be fun to take a cue from The Coveteur and put together some things that I’d wear to the shows or at least what I’d wear to loiter around outside the shows.

Disclaimer: Please enjoy my stream-of-consciousness commentary on why I put these items together.

01
Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 6.47.03 PMdelpozocopedder redchloe
Delpozo is really a default choice for me. Their pieces perfectly blend out-there sculptural silhouettes with a sort of traditional elegance. If Audrey Hepburn were a modern day street style girl, I think she’d wear head-to-toe Delpozo. I went with the Co trousers in order to satisfy the culotte trend that’s everywhere and picked the plaid Pedder Red slip-ons to add a hint of edge to the otherwise classic, preppy vibe. The Chloe sunglasses are self-explanatory.

02
Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 6.58.40 PM
3.1 philip limdelpozocelinedelfina delettrezchloej.crew
To me, this look is the kind of thing I would wear if I were an eccentric baroness. I’d have a slicked back bun à la Jenna Lyons and YSL lipstick in Le Orange. I like the combination of ionic columns and geometric pattern with a hit of blood orange to accent the neutrals. Also, don’t these pants look so comfortable? I feel like organza loungewear should be a thing.

03
Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 7.28.55 PM
tom fordtomecharlotte olympia
On the surface, this look has the elements of uptown, Carolina Herrera sort of elegance. It’s something that might be worn to the ballet by the kind of woman who carries a spare Coach bag to store her Birkin in case of rain. Beyond the surface, this one is kind of weird. If not at NYFW, where else would you wear a fuzzy Tom Ford sweater with a dirndl and matching marble accessories?

04
Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 7.54.44 PM
etsysacaikaren walkertopshop
If you don’t think it’d be fun to wear a Bernie shirt to fashion week, I would doubt our compatibility. There’s always a handful of political shout-outs at the shows and mine would be a salute to Bernie 2016 paired with a sensible skirt and 70s-inspired accessories.

05
Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.04.54 PM
thakoonsonia rykielmiu miuchanel
This would be my “keeping things simple while lowkey wearing vintage Chanel” look. I like the idea of a shirt dress with a cozy sweater for just about any occasion. The Miu Miu sneakers are just obligatory at this point. I’d sport this with unbrushed hair and a perfect manicure.

extras

perfect 10 cookies | power link tassel | matcha chia glow
My philosophy here is cliche but effective. I’d pack my bag with one or two of those cookies Karlie Kloss created for Momofuku Milk Bar, a clever iPhone charger, and my favorite drink from Organic Avenue.

Leave a comment