book report: summer haul

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 12.12.06 PM

 

 

Quite often, I’m asked for reading recommendations. Rather than give long-winded synopses and reviews of the books I’ve read or re-read this summer, I’ll just link to their respective Goodreads pages. Just for good measure, I’ll throw in a few of my own personal thoughts for each book.

NOTE: While writing this post, I realized that all but one of the books I read this summer were written by female authors!

So, here’s what I read this summer:

22875451
 The Royal We
Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

I read this cover-to-cover on a flight to Europe. It’s fast-paced and entertaining, so it’s the perfect travel/vacation book.
IN 3 WORDS: Royalty, Intrigue, Humor

17333319Burial Rites | Hannah Kent

I’ve talked about this one before but, guys, it’s so good.
IN 3 WORDS: Iceland, Murder, Farms

jane_eyre-1Jane Eyre | Charlotte Bronte

One of my two favorite books of all time, this is the only re-read I did this summer.
IN 3 WORDS: Estates, Intellect, Piety

dark-places-book-coverDark Places | Gillian Flynn

As you know by now, I’m a Gone Girl freak but it somehow took me over two years to read another Gillian Flynn book. I regret waiting that long because this was a good one.
IN 3 WORDS: Dark, Farms, Crime

play-it-coverPlay It As It Lays | Joan Didion

This book devoured me.
IN 3 WORDS: Hollywood, Tragedy, Feminism

22609307The Accidental Empress | Allison Pataki

This a great book to read while listening to classical music and eating little pastries in the bathtub, just saying.
IN 3 WORDS: Royalty, Austria, Opulence

FINDING-ULTRA-COVER-FINAL1Finding Ultra | Rich Roll

Rich Roll is basically the coolest, so read this book and then subscribe to his podcast.
IN 3 WORDS: Running, Health, Inspiration

wild coverWild | Cheryl Strayed

I really enjoyed the first half of this book but kind of lost interest toward the middle.
IN 3 WORDS: Hiking, Inspiration, Memoir

The-Dirty-Life-by-Kristin-Kimball-1The Dirty Life | Kristin Kimball

First of all, this is one of my very favorite book covers. I loved reading about the author’s farm and how her business is structured, but was bored by all the parts about her farmer husband. I’m sorry, I just can’t.
IN 3 WORDS: Farms, Agriculture, Inspiration

81AUUkaVVFLIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? | Mindy Kaling

I finally got around to reading this. It was basically wonderful and I finished it within a few hours. If I could assemble my own dream group of celebrity friends, I’d be having mimosas with Taylor Swift, Ina Garten, Fredrik Eklund, Kate Middleton, Karlie Kloss, and Mindy Kaling. It would be an interesting time.
IN 3 WORDS: Hilarious, Sassy, Cute

What’s Next On My List?
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro
The Cranes Dance by Meg Howrey
Bleak House by Charles Dickens
The Valley by John Renehan

Leave a Reply

