weekend checklist no. 3

5475c57bea183edf7ea689a9a768dfe2
During the summer months, I have this weird habit of becoming really obsessed with all things winter. I get really into reading winter-themed books and eating lots of soup even though it’s nearly one hundred degrees outside. Even the music I listen to and the movies I watch have a cold weather vibe. It doesn’t make any sense…


CLICK

1. Your Biotin Might Not Be Working, Unfortunately (via ITG)
2. How to Make Chia Jam (via The Lean Green Bean)
3. What 9 Health Editors Actually Eat (via The Coveteur)
4. The Value of Art No One Alive Will Ever Experience (via The Atlantic)
5. Five Stretches to Restore Your Body Post-Workout (via Net-a-Porter)


LISTENA-Sky-Full-of-Stars

1. Try – Colbie Caillat
2. Force of Nature – Bea Miller
3. Sky Full of Stars – Coldplay
4. Christian Dior Denim Flow – Kanye West
5. Daysleeper – R.E.M.


CURRENTLY READING17333319

“Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent

I was so hooked on this book that I got through it in two days. The setting–rural Iceland in the 1800s–is what initially attracted me to the story, which centers around religion, farmers, and a grisly murder. The characters are complex and well-developed and there is a lot of rich detail and beautiful descriptions of Iceland. It’s the perfect book for winter, which is why I read it in June.


TRY ITScreen Shot 2015-06-27 at 2.32.56 PM
Avene
Cleanance Toner

My mind is stuck in winter, but the weather certainly isn’t. It’s hot and disgusting and everything outside is sticky. My biggest beauty advice for hot weather is to use a good toner. I typically use Shiseido’s Ibuki Softening Concentrate but decided to try out this toner from Avene since I am so in love with their Thermal Spring Water. The Cleanance Toner is great. It leaves my skin feeling refreshed and clean. Put a few drops on a cotton round and wipe your face after cleansing, but before moisturizing.


WATCHING
The Real Girl’s Kitchen

haylie-retouch At my house, Food Network and the Cooking Channel are usually on in the background. My new favorite show is Haylie Duff’s The Real Girl’s Kitchen. I like this show because, to me, it’s more of a lifestyle show than a traditional cooking program. Every episode has a unique theme and great guests (i.e. Hilary Duff, Jessica Szohr, __, etc.) Some of my favorite episodes have been Crab Boil, Glamping, and Spice Girls. Not only are you learning new recipes and seeing some really cool places around L.A. and New York, but Haylie also has a lot of really good practical tips.

Leave a Reply

