A Christmas Tea

DSC_0262With Christmas approaching, I decided to throw an Eloise-themed tea party for the two adorable little girls who live next door. Whenever I come home for the weekend, they run outside to greet me and always make me feel special, so I thought it would be nice to do something cute for them!

While brainstorming ideas for the party decor, I almost went a bit crazy. I thought, why not buy a string of pink polka dot bunting? I actually considered purchasing an entire set of plates and silverware specifically for this event. In the end, I picked up some cute paper products from Target and my mom bought a silver, tiered cupcake stand as well as some other cute, silver table accessories. We dressed the table with a lace spread, pink-and-white striped napkins, polka dot paper straws, vintage books, pink roses in glass bud vases, silver glitter candle holders, my grandmother’s tea service, and personalized seating cards.

For the menu, I wanted to keep it simple (the girls are fairly young) and as pink as possible. I started (obviously) by baking chocolate cupcakes with homemade raspberry buttercream frosting. We made egg salad and cucumber finger sandwiches, biscuits with honey and jam, macerated strawberries, a plate of crudités, and, of course, pink lemonade. For the tea, I steeped three bags of Twining’s Earl Grey in the teapot and served on a tray with sugar, almond milk, and honey.

Here are a few pictures from the day:
DSC_0275 DSC_0291 DSC_0293 DSC_0302 DSC_0306 DSC_0317 DSC_0319 DSC_0325 DSC_0330 DSC_0332 DSC_0337 DSC_0334 DSC_0340 DSC_0343 DSC_0347
When I’m baking, I like to (shamelessly) dance and sing while simultaneously ensuring that I don’t mistake teaspoon for tablespoon. I found a few playlists that are perfect for the occasion, so definitely try them out next time you’re in the kitchen.

Bake It Off
Flour On Your Nose Tip
Drowning In Flour

Merry Christmas Eve!

One response to “A Christmas Tea

Leave a Reply

