Beauty Philosophy

omcheader

One of my favorite series of articles to read online is the Top Shelf series by Into The Gloss. They interview a wide range of women (and men)—from models to students–about not only their beauty regimen, but their personal beauty philosophy. Some of my favorite interviewees have been student Ebba Davidsson, Jenna Lyons, Shailene Woodley, Oh Land’s Nanna Fabricius, writer Chloe Malle, Moon Juice owner Amanda Chantal Bacon, and artist Andrea Mary Marshall.

I’ve always loved experimenting with beauty products and making my own DIY treatments at home, but I’ve recently settled into a pretty consistent routine which has slowly but surely delivered positive results. Considering the sensitivity of my skin, I try to refrain from too much deviation these days save for the good stuff that comes in my Birchbox every month.

I believe that beauty always starts with good health, meaning deliberate nutrition, exercise, and lots of water. Living in a dorm, it can take a little extra effort to maintain the diet I follow at home but–in my senior year–I’m finally getting the hang of it. I start everyday with a cup of hot water and lemon. I will admit that some mornings at school, I skip breakfast. When I do have breakfast, it usually consists of a piece of Ezekiel bread with jam and cup of tea or a Suja green juice which I will take to my morning class. At home, I like to have eggs and fruit, followed by a smoothie later in the morning.

Regardless of my location, I typically have a salad for lunch. If I’m eating in the dining hall, I like to fill a bowl with dark greens then top it with cucumbers, shredded carrots, a bit of shredded cheddar cheese, sunflower seeds, and a little drizzle of olive oil. I’ll have that with a glass of cucumber water and maybe a cookie. At home, I do the same thing but add some sliced celery, goji berries, cubed apples and a homemade dressing. My favorites are Gwyneth Paltrow’s Green Goddess and a tahini dill dressing, which I believe is also from a GP cookbook. You just mix together tahini and dill with a bit of lemon juice. Dinner at school varies, but usually I will have a salad and a plate of vegetables with hummus if I am eating in the dining hall. In my dorm, I like to cook brown rice, quinoa, and couscous then top it with steamed kale, avocado, and diced tomatoes. If I’m busy, I sometimes resort to one of the cleaner microwave meals (obsessed with Amy’s Mac & Cheese). Dinner at home is a different story entirely. My whole family loves to cook and my dad often makes really exciting vegan meals. I always eat like a queen when I go home for a weekend.

In the morning, I start my beauty regimen by cleansing my face with Kate Somerville’s Clarifying Cleanser using a konjac root sponge by Boscia. Next, I apply a serum, usually something from Caudalie. I really like their Vinoperfect Radiance Serum. On dull skin days, I follow up with an enzymatic face rejuvenator by Vasanti. I am a huge supporter of using natural deodorant and one which I have found to be effective is the Nourishing Apricot by Jason. As for toothpaste, I strictly use Tom’s of Maine which is free of fluoride.

As for makeup, I keep things pretty minimal. I love Dr. Jart’s Dis-a-Pore Beauty Balm as well as Dr. Jart’s Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm. I use one of these on a daily basis, followed by e.l.f. Studio Blush (in Twinkle Pink), CoverGirl Exact Eyelights mascara and Korres Wild Rose Instant Brightening Eye Cream. I touch up any shiny spots by spraying a bit of my Caudalie Beauty Elixir on a sponge, then dabbing it in my CoverGirl Ultimate Finish Liquid Powder Makeup. If I’m going out at night, I’ll add red lipstick and Noir’s Long-Wear Eyeliner. The Noir eyeliner is amazing, especially on nights that I assist at eight hour weddings. For my lips, I like Jouer Moisturizing Lipgloss but sometimes I’ll just run a toothbrush over my lips followed by some Burt’s Bees lip balm. In terms of fragrance, I alternate between Bottega Veneta and Hermes Eau de Merveilles.

My hair is pretty low maintenance. Right now, I am using a cocktail of Nexxus products but I typically like Aveda’s Rosemary Mint or anything by Organix. I swear by my Aveda wooden paddle brush, which I’ve been using for years now. For soaps, I love Dr. Bronner’s peppermint. I don’t often style my hair, but I keep three DryBar products on hand: the Detox Dry Shampoo for lazy days, the Southern Belle Volumizing Mousse, and Money Maker Flexible Hold Hairspray for ponytails and top-knots. On beach days, I like to spray in some Living Proof Instant Texture Mist after swimming.

My night routine is similar to the morning. After removing my makeup, I start with the Kate Somerville product on my konjac sponge and follow up with a night cream and Mario Badescu Ceramide Herbal Eye Cream. If I have any major blemishes, I use Kate Somerville’s EradiKate Acne Treatment overnight. Two or three times a week, I will use my electric tea kettle as a makeshift face steamer and then apply the Peter Thomas Roth Cucumber Gel Mask, which I will wear overnight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

