Just Saying Hello (Vol. 1)

I’ve been a fan of NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast for years now and have always loved their weekly “What’s Making Us Happy” segment. Every week, I try to decide what I would share if I were a guest on the show. It didn’t hit me until now to actually discuss this on the blog! So, here’s what’s been making me happy this week:

6013983649
Gilmore Girls on Netflix

I am so excited about this. I began binge watching Gilmore Girls at the beginning of the summer and had a rather difficult time finding good, free streams (oops, guilty). I had such a difficult time that I gave up sometime in June when I had reached the first few episodes of season four. So thank God and thank Netflix that this show is now easily available to stream whenever I have a free hour in my dorm. So, what’s really making me happy is the fact that today, I was able to watch my favorite episode: Episode 4.9 Ted Koppel’s Big Night Out, in which the Gilmores attend the Harvard-Yale game and I am further reminded of my life goals to host a tailgate party à la Emily Gilmore!

The-New-Yorker-Cover-12
The New Yorker‘s Podcasts

Everyone knows that I’m a huge podcast person. I’ve listened to way too many of them but tend to remain loyal to my favorites. This week, I started listening to a few of the many podcasts produced by The New Yorker. There are tons to choose from! It is impossible to select a favorite. You have your pick from Poetry, Fiction, Out Loud (a good one!), The Political Scene, Comment, and Movie of the Week (a must listen). Also, is this not the best cover image? If that scenario is not something you’ve crossed your fingers for while riding the train, then you’re not doing it right.

The trailer for 21 Years: Richard Linklater

Okay, deep breath. I do not know how I will be able to stand the anticipation while waiting for November 7th to arrive. This film is obviously the universe’s half-birthday gift to me. I adore Richard Linklater. I am constantly fascinated by the range of films he releases and am impressed by nearly every one of them. People in my life are tired of hearing me talk about Boyhood and the Before Sunrise trilogy—four films which have impacted me on so many levels. I have vivid memories of crying while walking around Columbus Circle after seeing Boyhood for the first time this summer and literally rubbing shoulders with Linklater. Honestly, I’m the biggest fangirl for this guy and I feel like this documentary is just going to serve as evidentiary support for my feelings.

& here’s what I’ve been up to lately…
12

Leave a Reply

