In My Closet

Screen Shot 2014-09-27 at 1.00.15 PM

j.crew textured slouchy sweater | madewell sweatshirt | preen stretch-taffeta gown | j.crew collarless coat | j.crew metallic flat | givenchy burgundy antigona bag | karen walker sunglasses | sophie bille brahe diamond ear cuff | j.crew thomas mason tuxedo shirt

As exhibited in my most often used board on Pinterest, aptly titled “Simplicity”, all of my attention is currently focused on fall looks that could be described as bare bones. When I go to my closet in the morning these days, I piece together looks inspired by the semiotics class in The Marriage Plot, the white-washed films of Carl Theodor Dreyer, and clean interior design. Not only are my sartorial tendencies slouching toward minimal, but I’ve found this trend appearing as well in my preferences for music. I’ve moved from my summer playlist (Blood Orange, Ingrid Michaelson, Five Seconds of Summer) to a crisp, autumnal one featuring American Football, Andrew Bird, and Elliott Smith. The most cliche fall experience I’ve had thus far occurred over the past week when I took a pumpkin spice latte to the beach one drizzly afternoon and wore a cable knit sweater while listening to Damien Rice. Don’t judge me. Fall is here! I can’t help but be sentimental.

Leave a Reply

