Equipment

I had the most amazing facial at Sephora this past weekend (shout out to Nicole at St. John’s Town Center). I had been shopping all morning and wanted to stop into Sephora before heading out. The plan was to look around and maybe find a new cleanser because the humidity has wreaked havoc on my skin ever since I got home. I had no intentions of leaving the store with a bag full of product and my bank account nearly drained, but that’s what happened and that is the reality of my life. I physically cannot leave The Strand or Sephora empty-handed.

Later this week, I’ll dedicate an entire post to the new products. But right now, I need to talk about some of the incredible beauty devices I’ve recently become familiar with.

Here’s some that are on my wish list:

1. Steamer Solutions by Dr. Dennis Gross
Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 12.07.41 AM
I am speaking with no exaggeration when I say that this steamer may be the best thing that has ever happened for my skin. Yes, I sat in the back of Sephora for a good two minutes with clouds of steam puffing out at my face for all strangers to see and it was completely worth it. If you think that buying a steamer for your face is a silly way to spend money, let me just point out that one good facial at a spa will cost you more than the price of the endless at-home facials you will be able to experience if you purchase this little machine for $125. This is number one on my list right now.

2. Opal Anti-Aging Eye Corrector by Clarisonic
Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 12.15.21 AM
Nicole at Sephora was correct when she told me that the Opal was “definitely something to blog about”. She used it to apply the Wild Rose Instant Brightening Eye Treatment by Korres to the skin under my eyes, but told me that it can be used to apply various other treatments as well. She described it as being like a GPS for your skin. It helps to guide the product deep into your skin, rather than just settling on the outer layers.

3. Konjac Cleansing Sponge by Boscia
Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 12.21.04 AM
I ended up buying one of these on Saturday, so it isn’t technically on my wish list. These sponges are made from the konjac root, which is a root vegetable that has been used in Asian medicine for centuries. You simply apply a drop of your cleanser to the top of the sponge and then use it in circular motions around your face and neck for 3o seconds to a minute. You can use the Boscia Purifying Cleansing gel that comes with it, but I personally prefer to use my Kate Somerville cleanser. It’s pretty versatile, so you can make of it whatever you wish.

4. LUNA for Combination Skin by Foreo
Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 12.28.07 AM
I’ve heard a lot of great things about the Luna. It’s very similar to the Clarisonic devices, but these are apparently gentler and more effective. Where the Clarisonic devices simply cleanse, the Luna can be used for cleansing, firming, and anti-aging. While it costs a bit more than the Clarisonic Mia tool, the Luna doesn’t require any replacement heads. So, you’re actually saving money here.

5. Acne Clearing Blue Light by Tria
Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 12.35.33 AM
Sometimes I think my love of skin care is related to my childhood obsession with spy gadgets and DIY science experiments. So, when I stumble upon a product that makes me feel like a modern day Nikita, I may get a little bit zealous. The blue light by Tria is one of those products. It uses a non-UV light to kill bacteria and is gentler than many traditional chemical cleansers. It’s like going to the dermatologist except without appointments or gross exam tables.

 

As a bonus, I have to mention how much I love any person who keeps a little refrigerator in their bathroom specifically for the purpose of storing their product. If you were to take a look inside my mini-fridge, I can’t promise that you won’t find a few bottles of nail polish or my Caudalie Beauty Elixir…

Leave a Reply

