The High Line Hotel

Photo Aug 03, 10 26 27 AM

This summer, I found myself in desperate need of a “stay-cation”. Yeah, we all know that New York is great and everything but sometimes it–all of it: the constant stream of people, the unpredictable frustrations, the weird spots in the subway station where random hot air blows out on you, the long days spent crunching numbers and analyzing sales metrics in your office cube–can be exhausting.

As the end of summer loomed, I decided to book a room at The High Line Hotel and found that it was exactly what I needed. It was the perfect venue to play host to my ultimate summer stay-cation.

This place has everything. Vintage-inspired decor, tiny little elevators, a big ram skull in a dark corner, a telescope, half-rooms (I stayed in Room 47.5!), and a really friendly concierge who was able to deal with all of my neuroses! It’s great. First of all, the building makes you feel like you’ve stepped out of Manhattan and onto the campus of some historic university. In fact, the hotel originally served as a portion of the General Theological Seminary in the 19th and 20th centuries. This is a coincidence, considering my college dorms were once part of a hotel and this hotel was once something like a dorm.

The hotel is located in Chelsea and sits directly across from the High Line, hence the name. It’s right around the corner from Blossom (one of my all-time favorite restaurants in the city) and a short walk from places like The Grey Dog, Chelsea Market, and all of the great shopping in the Meatpacking District.

Photo Aug 02, 2 12 14 PM

The rooms are smaller than at your usual hotel, but that’s the city for you. The decor was exactly my taste—creaking wood floors, huge rugs, navy blue curtains, antique accent items, and a penny tiled bathroom. In the lobby, you’ll find a little bar and in the courtyard, a quaint restaurant which was bustling on Sunday afternoon and the Intelligentsia coffee truck. Another great perk is that the hotel offers complimentary (and adorable) bicycles.

Another observation is that the HLH has, by far, the greatest minibar I have ever had the pleasure of stumbling upon in a hotel. I will spare the details, but they honestly provided the supplies for just about any drink you could possibly want to mix up.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 presetThen, there were the fluffy robes.

Photo Aug 02, 2 24 16 PM Photo Aug 02, 2 24 20 PM

In the bathrooms, you will find an array of products from C.O. Bigelow, a wonderful New York apothecary steeped in history and tradition. Originally founded in 1893, C.O. Bigelow has served such noted customers as Thomas Edison, Samuel Clemens, and the fabulous Eleanor Roosevelt. Included in my room was shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, mouthwash, and bar soap all in a lavender-peppermint scent. The hair products are, unfortunately, not sulfate-free so I am not compelled to recommend them for purchase but they’re absolutely great compared to any hotel products I’ve received prior to this stay. I do, however, recommend the bar soap and body lotion. Funny story–I took these samples with me after my stay and ended up using the body lotion as shampoo by accident one morning. Needless to say, it was not pleasant. But, it’s great when used properly!

After having dinner with a friend at Blossom, I settled into my room and had a bit of a spa night. Earlier that day, I received a bag full of awesome samples from a generous Sephora employee (thanks again!) and was excited to test out a few things from Murad (more on that later). Here’s an embarrassing photo from the endeavor:

Photo Aug 02, 8 51 33 PM

After that, I had some Swedish Fish and watched Girl Meets World. It may not have been the most glamorous or cultured of choices, but I will say that it was thoroughly relaxing. I woke up the next morning feeling refreshed and ready to head out for breakfast at The Grey Dog followed by shopping and a late brunch at Vin et Fleurs with some friends.

Photo Aug 02, 4 33 38 PM

Photo Aug 02, 4 12 43 PM

Photo Aug 02, 4 33 03 PM

 

I had such a good time at the High Line Hotel. Next time you’re in the city or are desperate for a stay-cation, I highly recommend you stop by!

One response to “The High Line Hotel

Leave a Reply

