Beauty Bag

beautybag_header

It is a well-known fact that I am a shameless collector of beauty products. Needless to say, I had been anticipating the opening of the first ever brick-and-mortar Birchbox store in SoHo for quite some time. Yesterday, I had the chance to pop in to try out their B.Y.O.B (“Build Your Own Birchbox”) deal and, I must say, I’m rather pleased with my choices. So pleased that it prompted me to pen this post about my favorite beauty products. I’ve tried so many products but the following are my Top 5 favorites, in no particular order.

1. Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser
NN1001-0-large

This product is magical. You apply the cream to a dry face–makeup and all–and follow up by removing the polish, along with your makeup and all the grime which has accumulated on your face throughout the day, using the muslin cloth and hot water. I must admit that this product sounded too good to be true and I didn’t expect it to adequately remove my makeup or to do so without completely ruining the cloth. But lo and behold, all makeup (including mascara) came off easily and washed right out of the muslin cloth. It also leaves your face feeling clean and smooth. Pretty unbelievable.

2. Klorane Dry Shampoo w/ Oat Milk
20110524120846_20110414145111_Klorane_Oat_Dry_Shampoo_150mlhires

 

After trying several brands of dry shampoo, I’ve decided that Klorane has the best. Just spray it half an arm’s length away from the roots of your hair, let it settle for a few minutes, then brush out. Not only does dry shampoo remove excess oils from the hair, but it is also great for adding volume. I love using Klorane when my hair feels flat or weighed down. It’s a super easy fix!

3. Caudalie Beauty Elixir
014-beauty-elixir-ambiance_1_1
I am a huge fan of thermal sprays, particularly the Beauty Elixir by Caudalie. Inspired by a formula used by Queen Isabelle of Hungary, it’s a great product to have on hand for those muggy days during which you feel as though your entire face is melting away. The product contains a concoction of bitter orange, rosemary, peppermint, and grapefruit oils and can be used before your moisturizer, to set makeup, or at any point throughout the day when you are in need of a refreshing spritz. Another great option is Avene’s Thermal Spring Water.

 

4. GLAMGLOW ThirstyMud Hydrating Treatment
thirstymud_carton_1_2GLAMGLOW’s ThirstyMud treatment was wonderful surprise that I discovered through a sample I received the last time I bought my Caudalie elixir at Sephora. I wasn’t expecting much, but I will definitely be picking up the full size product once my sample runs out. First of all, the masque feels like a luxurious spa treatment, as it has a warm coconut scent. It contains things like apple sugars, oat beta glucan, raw honey, and ginger root which work together to hydrate and detoxify the skin. You have the option to do a quick 20-minute treatment or you can opt to keep the product on overnight. Either way, you’ll find that your skin feels revived and butter soft after just one use.

5. Mario Badescu Ceramide Herbal Eye Cream
EC_ceramide2
It’s true that there are tons of eye creams on the market, but you will be hard-pressed to find one that is both effective and worth the typically exorbitant cost (see: La Mer!). If you are like me–a girl in her twenties–it’s best to use a product that is preventative rather than corrective. This is good news for your wallet (full disclosure: you can even use plain old Vaseline under your eyes for a cheap, moisturizing eye treatment). This particular cream uses ceramides–a lipid containing fatty acids which capture and retain moisture to keep the under-eye area plump and, therefore, free of wrinkles. The Mario Badescu eye cream jar is only $18 and I promise that it will last a long time. Another trick is to acquire a sample packet or two (sometimes offered as a free gift with purchase at places like Ulta). Even using the product everyday, I’ve made one sample packet last nearly three months.

BONUS
Some cute makeup bags for all of your favorite products.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gingham Cosmetic Case Sonia Kashuk | The Overnighter Sephora | Beauty on the Fly Sephora | Nantucket Canvas Case Mud Pie | Doodle Dots Landscape Cosmetic Case MARC by Marc Jacobs | Domo Arigato Brush Check Cosmetic Pouch MARC by Marc Jacobs | Robison Saffiano Small Makeup Bag Tory Burch | Stripe Leather Pouch J.Crew | Java Place Berrie Kate Spade | Beauty Tips Large Annabella Kate Spade | Le Pavillion Small Henrietta Kate Spade

Leave a Reply

