John Green’s Crash Course

I have new obsession and it is the author  John Green‘s YouTube series “Crash Course“. Admittedly, I have never read any of Green’s books but I certainly have a very positive opinion of him based solely on this series!  There are eight individual series under the umbrella of Crash Course (World History, Biology, Ecology, Literature, US History, Chemistry, Psychology, Literature 2) which consist of anywhere from seven to forty plus videos. Every video is a brief overview of a concept, a book, an event, or a time period reported by John Green (save for the Chemistry series) in a concise and entertaining manner. These videos could easily be shown in the classroom but I believe they are truly meant for brainy high schoolers who want to learn more about the Ottoman Empire or Nuclear Chemistry or how to analyze the poetry of Emily Dickinson in their free time (which, incidentally, sounds a lot like myself as a high schooler). But even as a college student, I’ve really enjoyed devouring these videos. I found that the material covered in the first half of the World History series was a really good simplification of what I’ve learned in my college level history courses.

In creating this series, I think Green and his production company have really harnessed the power of YouTube and have made a fun and, dare I say it, “cool” method of learning. Here are some of my favorite videos (although, I haven’t watched them all yet):

1. Indus Valley Civilization

 

2. Like Pale Gold: The Great Gatsby Part I
3. Language, Voice, and Holden Caulfield: The Catcher in the Rye Part I
4. The French Revolution
5. Archdukes, Cynicism, and World War I

 

Have fun!

 

Leave a Reply

