Favorite Couples

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d have a short-and-sweet post about my favorite couples, whether they be real or imagined! One thing I will refrain from, though, is discussing the many “favorite” couples I am lucky to know in my personal life.

So, here’s the list:

Queen Elizabeth II & Prince Philip

queen elizabeth prince philip“He is someone who doesn’t take easily to compliments. But he has, quite simply, been my strength and stay all these years, and I and his whole family, in this and many other countries, owe him a debt greater than he would ever claim or we shall ever know.” – Her Majesty on her husband, Prince Philip.

Paul Newman & Joanne Woodward
paul-newman-and-joanne-woodward
11
“Sexiness wears thin after a while and beauty fades, but to be married to a man who makes you laugh every day, ah, now that’s a real treat.” – Joanne Woodward

“…because of ‘great impatience tempered by patience. When you have been together this long, sometimes you drive each other nuts, but underneath that is some core of affection and respect.” – Paul Newman on how his marriage lasted.

John F. Kennedy Jr. & Carolyn Bessette Kennedy

Prince Frederik & Crown Princess Mary
967832-crown-prince-frederik-crown-princess-mary
“My favorite poem is by Elizabeth Barrett Browning, “How Do I Love Thee,” which has always been something special for me. And it’s something I have from my father. It is also his favorite poem. It’s just so beautiful and it’s about love. The last line says: …’if God choose, I shall but love thee better after death’.” – Crown Princess Mary on sending poetry to her then-boyfriend Prince Frederik.

Mitt Romney & Ann Davies Romney
4f047e9094e0c.image

Jesse & Celine

“I am giving you my whole life, ok?”

Elizabeth & Darcy
 1260466171482_f
In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” – Fitzwilliam Darcy

(Full Disclosure: I also kind of hate Fitzwilliam Darcy.)

I hope everyone had a very happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

