Best of 2013: Music

Screen Shot 2013-12-17 at 7.26.10 PMI’m not a huge music nerd, so please don’t expect my list to be at all similar to what you would find on NPR or Pitchfork. Honestly, this list is not 100% indicative of what I actually listen to on a daily basis (which, for the most part, consists of classical, One Direction, Taylor Swift, random Songza playlists and movie soundtracks). Without further ado, here is the top five list!

1. Daughter

Daughter is this incredible English band fronted by Elena Tonra. The music is haunting and very relaxing, which makes it the perfect soundtrack for sleeping on a cold night with the windows open. My favourite original song is “Candles” and my favourite cover is of Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky” which blows my mind every time I hear it. Also, check out their tiny desk concert!

2. Lianne La Havas

I came across Lianne La Havas when I randomly heard her cover of Jill Scott’s “He Loves Me” and I was blown away. This song led me to listening to her entire album on Spotify multiple times over.

3. James Blake – Overgrown

I’ve been a fan of James Blake for quite some time now, but am completely obsessed with not only his new album “Overgrown”, but with his gorgeous new videos. You can watch my favorite, the one for the title track, above but I also highly recommend the video for “Retrograde“.

4. Blood Orange

There’s not much I can say other than, simply, Devonte Hynes is ridiculous. His music is this perfect mix of L.A. in the 80s and Brooklyn hipsters in the summer. I can’t wait to listen to this album during the warmer months.

5. “Bonfire Heart” by James Blunt

I am now a fan of James Blunt and I have no shame for that. His new album is great, but this song is especially memorable (and fun to sing along to).

 

 

One response to “Best of 2013: Music

  1. Pingback: @LianneLaHavas – My Deity | insightintoisabelle·

Leave a Reply

