Inspired By…Chloe Goes to College

Recently, I posted a selection of Tommy Hilfiger video campaigns featuring “The Hilfigers” and mentioned that my favorite is ‘Chloe Goes to College’. Here’s how you can achieve Chloe’s quirky, intellectual style.

For the dorm… (or the apartment?)

1. Tartan Throw
Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 10.37.03 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-29 at 10.38.56 PM
Keep warm with these wool throws from Pendleton. In my dorm: I use a super soft fleece throw from the U.S. Polo Association.

2. Novelty Pillows


Stock up on an array of quirky throw pillows like this striped one from Tommy Hilfiger or the Jack Wills pheasant cushionIn my dorm: My bed is styled with an etoile pillow that I made with my mum and a smaller pillow with a needlepoint image of my college campus.

3. Vintage Posters
il_570xN.399238829_e2lt    Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 10.53.42 PM
Etsy is the place to go for these. Look for vintage travel posters like this one from Maine or perhaps an old advertisement, perhaps for your favourite drink? In my dorm: I’ve got quite a large Jules Chéret poster leaning up against the wall on top of my dresser as well as some vintage travel posters for places like Edinburgh and Monte Carlo.

4. Maps
Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.01.19 PM Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.02.14 PM
Whether it is a map of the stars or map of our planet, I love the idea of plastering your walls with these. Diana Vreeland once said, “Why don’t you paint a map of the world on all four walls of your boys’ nursery so they won’t grow up with a provincial point of view?” The same thing applies to a dorm.

5. Pennants


An absolute must-have for any collegiate dorm. Pennants for most colleges can be found here, while lesser known colleges will most likely sell pennants in their gift shop or online. In my dorm: We have the lovely pennant pictured above.

6. Trunks / Suitcases
Vintage Suitcase
Use old trunks and suitcases to store extra blankets, accessories, or books. You can easily find these on Etsy, at a garage sale, in your grandmother’s attic, or at a thrift shop. In my dorm: I have an antique suitcase underneath my bed, in which I store all of my books and notebooks for class.

7. Quirky Accessories


Whether it’s an oil painting of a Sea Captain or a set of unique bookends, no room of Chloe’s is complete without a menagerie of trinkets and accessories picked up during one’s travels. In my dorm: Among other things, I’ve got a little clay duck that sits on my desk beside a porcelain doe and a Cafe du Monde coffee can being used as a bookend.

8. Stacks Upon Stacks of Books

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Not only are they great reads, but they also make for fabulous decor. Some recommendations for your shelf (or your windowsill or for stacking on the floor): American Empress by Nancy Rubin, Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte, Le Morte d’Arthur by Malory, Baines, and Graves, God & Man at Yale by William F. Buckley Jr., The Fortune of the Rougons by Emile Zola, Paintings in Proust by Eric Karpeles, and A History of the World in Twelve Maps by Jerry Brotton.

For your closet…

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.39.57 PMSweaters galore! And, of course, those dark oval sunglasses.
(Clockwise: Tommy Hilfiger, Marc by Marc Jacobs, Maison Kitsune, J.Crew, Barbour, Rochas, Miss Iny, Aran Sweater Market).

One response to “Inspired By…Chloe Goes to College

  1. Pingback: The Room Where I Write – Smart Stunning Searching·

Leave a Reply

